Hello and Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I’ve got a treat for you guys today: a Healthy Shamrock Shake recipe!

healthy shamrock shake

 I used to love the seasonal Shamrock Shake from a certain fast food restaurant.Oh my gosh – Shamrock Shakes! I’d forgotten all about those! I decided I had a new mission: create a healthy but still delicious version at home.

 

IMG_5490

I set to work on the project yesterday, with a little bit of my moms help of course. The secret ingredient? Avocado!

IMG_5476

Have you guys ever had avocado in a smoothie before?;)  Try it – avocado makes smoothies really creamy and awesome, and you can’t taste it. Adds some healthy fat to the mix, too!

Healthy Shamrock Shake

by fANNEtastic food

Prep Time: 5 minutes

A healthy, vegan variation of the popular fast food milkshake. Creamy and delicious!

6061411

 

Ingredients (makes 1 large or 2 small smoothies)

  • 1 cup Almond Breeze vanilla almondmilk (sweetened)
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 10 fresh mint leaves
  • 1/2 a ripe avocado
  • 1 cup ice

Instructions

  • Throw all the ingredients into a blender and blend! Serve garnished with mint and a small shake of cinnamon, if desired.
Powered by Recipage

The smoothie was more green in person than it looks in these photos, but if you want to make it even more green, add a small handful of spinach to the blender. You won’t be able to taste it, I promise!

IMG_5488

Enjoy – and have a wonderful day, my friends! Hope you’re wearing green. :)

